irregular times clock

Ocean Acidification in Congress

How did they vote on H. Res. 989?

June 9, 2010 was not a good day for the world's oceans.

Word came from government scientists that BP had vastly understated the amount of toxic fossil fuels gushing out of the wreck site of the offshore drilling rig Deepwater Horizon in the Gulf of Mexico. Sea ice covering the Arctic Sea was at four standard deviations below the mean for the previous generation.

Then, to top it all off, the U.S. House of Representatives voted to stop the passage of a resolution, H. Res. 989, urging the support of research and international cooperation in order to deal with ocean acidification. Ocean acidification is a scientifically verified present and growing problem that is already causing serious biological stress for corals, shellfish, and other animals that depend upon the extraction of minerals from ocean water.

19 Republicans crossed the aisle to vote in favor of the resolution. 20 Democrats crossed the aisle to vote against the resolution. Their names are listed below:

Republicans who voted for the resolution:

Rodney Alexander
Judy Biggert
Brian Bilbray
Mary Bono Mack
Bill Cassidy
Mike Castle
Ander Crenshaw
Lincoln Diaz-Balart
Mario Diaz-Balart
Charles Djou
Jeff Fortenberry
Tim Johnson
Walter Jones
Peter King
Mark Kirk
Christopher Lee
Dave Rieichert
Ileana Ros-Lehtinen
Rob Wittman

Democrats who voted against the resolution:

Jason Altmire
Joe Baca
Jerry Costello
Mark Critz
Gene Green
Raul Grijalva
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin
Tim Holden
Paul Kanjorski
Alan Mollohan
Patrick Murphy
Solomon Ortiz
Nick Rahall
Silvestre Reyes
John Salazar
Ike Skelton
Zack Space
John Tanner
Gene Taylor
Charles Wilson

Subscribe to our Irregular Newsletters on the following topics:

1. Social Movement Actions,
2. Credulity and Faith,
3. Election News,
4. This Week in Congress,
5. Tech Dispatch
6. our latest Political Stickers, Buttons and Shirts

Write your own articles at our Irregular Diaries
make a declaration: That's My Congress!