Who Voted To Buy C-17 Planes The Pentagon Says It Doesn't Want?

irregular times clockThe following is the roll call vote for S. AMDT. 2558, to H.R. 3326, the defense appropriations bill for the fiscal year 2010. The vote was taken on Wednesday, September 30, 2009.

The vote has to do with C-17 cargo planes - 2.5 billion dollars worth of them. Congress added this spending for C-17 planes even though the White House did not request it. The Pentagon says that it does not need the C-17 planes, and it doesn't want Congress to buy them.

It should have been an easy call for any member of the Senate to vote for S. AMDT. 2558. If the military says that it doesn't need and doesn't want expensive cargo airplanes, then Congress shouldn't buy them, right? Unfortunately, many senators don't see things that way. The way they see it, corporate military contractors stand to lose a lot of money if these unnecessary airplanes are not built. So, in order to serve the needs of these companies, many senators decided to vote to keep the C-17 gravy train running, using public money to enrich shareholders of private corporations.

As you can see below, support for this corrupt, wasteful spending was by no means split along party lines. Democrats and Republicans alike seem to be in the pocket of powerful military contractors.

Democrats Who Voted To Continue Wasteful C-17 Spending

Senator Daniel K. Akaka (D-HI)
Senator Max Baucus (D-MT)
Senator Evan Bayh (D-IN)
Senator Mark Begich (D-AK)
Senator Jeff Bingaman (D-NM)
Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
Senator Roland Burris (D-IL)
Senator Maria Cantwell (D-WA)
Senator Robert P. Casey (D-PA)
Senator Christopher J. Dodd (D-CT)
Senator Richard J. Durbin (D-IL)
Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
Senator Kirsten E. Gillibrand (D-NY)
Senator Kay Hagan (D-NC)
Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA)
Senator Daniel K. Inouye (D-HI)
Senator Tim Johnson (D-SD)
Senator John F. Kerry (D-MA)
Senator Paul Kirk (D-MA)
Senator Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ)
Senator Patrick J. Leahy (D-VT)
Senator Blanche Lambert Lincoln (D-AR)
Senator Claire McCaskill (D-MO)
Senator Robert Menendez (D-NJ)
Senator Barbara A. Mikulski (D-MD)
Senator Patty Murray (D-WA)
Senator Ben Nelson (D-NE)
Senator Mark Pryor (D-AR)
Senator Jack Reed (D-RI)
Senator Harry Reid (D-NV).
Senator John D. (Jay) Rockefeller, IV (D-WV)
Senator Charles Schumer (D-NY)
Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH).
Senator Debbie A. Stabenow (D-MI).
Senator Jon Tester (D-MT)
Senator Tom Udall (D-NM)
Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)
Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR)

Republicans Who Voted To Continue Wasteful C-17 Spending

Senator Robert F. Bennett (R-UT)
Senator Kit Bond (R-MO)
Senator Sam Brownback (R-KS)
Senator Jim Bunning (R-KY)
Senator Richard Burr (R-NC)
Senator Saxby Chambliss (R-GA)
Senator Thad Cochran (R-MS)
Senator Susan Collins (R-ME)
Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)
Senator Mike Crapo (R-ID)
Senator James DeMint (R-SC)
Senator Lindsey Graham (R-SC)
Senator Charles E. Grassley (R-IA)
Senator Orrin G. Hatch (R-UT)
Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX)
Senator James M. Inhofe (R-OK)
Senator Johnny Isakson (R-GA)
Senator Mike Johanns (R-NE)
Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
Senator Jim Risch (R-ID)
Senator Pat Roberts (R-KS)
Senator Richard C. Shelby (R-AL)
Senator Olympia Snowe (R-ME)
Senator Roger F. Wicker (R-MS)

Independents Who Voted To Continue Wasteful C-17 Spending

Senator Joseph I. Lieberman (ID-CT)

Democrats Who Voted Against Wasteful C-17 Spending

Senator Michael F. Bennet (D-CO)
Senator Benjamin L. Cardin (D-MD)
Senator Thomas R. Carper (D-DE)
Senator Kent Conrad (D-ND)
Senator Byron L. Dorgan (D-ND)
Senator Russell D. Feingold (D-WI)
Senator Al Franken (D-MN)
Senator Ted Kaufman (D-DE)
Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Senator Herb Kohl (D-WI)
Senator Carl Levin (D-MI)
Senator Jeff Merkley (D-OR)
Senator Bill Nelson (D-FL)
Senator Arlen Specter (D-PA)
Senator Mark Udall (D-CO)
Senator Mark Warner (D-VA)
Senator James Webb (D-VA)

Republicans Who Voted Against Wasteful C-17 Spending

Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
Senator John A. Barrasso (R-WY)
Senator Tom Coburn (R-OK)
Senator Bob Corker (R-TN)
Senator John Ensign (R-NV)
Senator Michael Enzi (R-WY)
Senator Judd Gregg (R-NH)
Senator Jon Kyl (R-AZ)
Senator George LeMieux (R-FL)
Senator Richard G. Lugar (R-IN)
Senator John McCain (R-AZ)
Senator Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
Senator Jeff Sessions (R-AL)
Senator David Vitter (R-LA)
Senator George Voinovich (R-OH)
Senator John R. Thune (R-SD)

Independents Who Voted Against Wasteful C-17 Spending

Senator Bernie Sanders (I-VT)

Abandon your plans in favor of the Irregular Times
then explore the weird corners of the Irregular Bin

Irregular Times require vocal minds, so publish your comebacks on the Irregular Diaries